









Jim McMahon OBE MP Minister for Local Government and English Devolution Ministry of Housing, Communities & Local Government

By email 21 March 2025

Dear Minister,

Local Government Reorganisation for Warwickshire

We are writing to you on behalf of the Councils in Warwickshire in response to your letter of 5th February, inviting all councils in Warwickshire to submit interim proposals for Local Government Reorganisation.

Whilst it has not proved possible to submit one single interim plan, the Councils in Warwickshire have engaged constructively and collaboratively in the development of these plans. These are competing bids, but this should not be read as anything other than differences of opinion as to the optimum unitary arrangements for the County.

We will be pleased to receive feedback from your department and will continue to have proactive and positive engagement across all councils. We assure you that all councils are committed to achieving the best governance arrangements for the residents and communities of Warwickshire. To that end, we will continue to work constructively towards the submission of full proposals for the November deadline.

Please find enclosed two Interim Plans:

The first is on behalf of North Warwickshire Borough Council, Nuneaton and Bedworth Borough Council, Rugby Borough Council, Warwick District Council and Stratford-on-Avon District Council. It concludes that both options (Single Unitary and two Unitaries) can meet all the Government's criteria for local government reform.

The second proposal is on behalf of Warwickshire County Council. It concludes that only a single unitary council can meet all the Government's criteria for local government reform.

We look forward to your feedback at the earliest opportunity.

Yours sincerely,

Cllr David Wright Leader North Warwickshire Borough Council

Cllr Susan Juned Leader of Stratford-on-Avon District Council

Cllr Christopher Watkins Leader of Nuneaton and Bedworth Borough Council

C. Watturs

Cllr Izzi Seccombe OBE Leader of Warwickshire County Council

In Davija

Cllr Michael Moran

MICM

Leader of Rugby Borough Council

Cllr Ian Davison
Leader of Warwick District Council